Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for Black History Month.
Titles in our Collection
READ WOKE Challenge
Encourage students (and sign up yourself) to participate in our Read Woke Challenge at Ralston High School.
SORA - The Digital Reading App
Biography Reference Bank via NebraskAccess This link opens in a new window
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources, with improved functionality, and a fun and easy-to-use search interface. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
Websites to Use for African-American History Month
The Do's and Don'ts of Teaching Black History Month
Black History Month is an opportunity to emphasize the history and achievements of African Americans. But too often, Black History Month gets relegated to a couple of lessons and some wall art that only stays up for a couple of weeks. There are several ways for teachers to increase the impact of Black History lessons on students. Here are some do’s and don’ts of teaching Black History Month.
Library of Congress - African-American History Month
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
National Museum of African-American History
Powerful moments in African American history, culture, and community.
NEA : Black History Month Lessons & Resources, Grades 9-12
To help you integrate Black History Month into your classroom, we offer a selection of lesson plans that cover a variety subjects and that can be adapted to fit grades 9-12.
Teaching Tolerance's mission is to help teachers and schools educate children and youth to be active participants in a diverse democracy.
Zinn Education Project
The Zinn Education Project promotes and supports the teaching of people’s history in middle and high school classrooms across the country. Based on the lens of history highlighted in Howard Zinn’s best-selling book A People’s History of the United States, the website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level. The Zinn Education Project is coordinated by two non-profit organizations, Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change.
Ralston High School Media Center Hours
The RHS Media Center is open school days from 7:40 a.m. until 3:45 p.m.