Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS® Issues Researcher helps students make sense of the world by offering relevant, credible resources that tell the whole story on major issues and world conflicts of the day. Start with SIRS Issues Researcher for background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 330+ current and pervasive Leading Issues.
Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. Editorially created Topic Overview pages help build solid foundations for understanding the issue. Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions with answers, and viewpoint articles.
SIRS Government Reporter
SIRS Government Reporter delivers thousands of full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
EBSCOhost databases are the most-used, premium online information resources
for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users.
Top Reasons to Use Subscription Databases
This infographic does a great job of explaining why the databases that the library subscribes to are superior to free internet searching for your research assignments.
Top government issues of the day as seen by the Obama administration.
Crime in the United States
Crime in the United States is the annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data.
Federal Bureau of Investigation
In addition to providing access to Crime in the United States and Uniform Crime Statistics, the FBI website provides a host of other statistics, serves as a portal to each of the state-based sexual offender registries and offers a wealth of historical materials on notorious criminals and famous crimes.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
On the Issues
Our mission is to provide non-partisan information for voters in the Presidential election, so that votes can be based on issues rather than on personalities and popularity.
We get our information daily from newspapers, speeches, press releases, and the Internet.
Is Human Embryo Experimentation Ethical? by
Call Number: 174.2 SZU
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Includes bibliographical references and index. A collection of essays that discuss both sides of the ethical debate on human embryo experimentation.
Can Gun Control Reduce Violence? by
Call Number: 363.33 NET
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
An exploration of controversies related to gun control that discusses the origins of the gun control controversy; provides varying perspectives on how gun control affects crime rates, the role mental illness plays in gun violence, whether assault weapons should be banned, and would arming more people make America safer.
Juvenile in Justice by
Call Number: 365.42 ROS
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
A collection of photographs of young people in juvenile detention, accompanied by the life stories that those in custody shared with the photographer.
Beyond Magenta by
Call Number: 306.768 KUK
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Author and photographer Susan Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them thoughtfully and respectfully before, during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender preference. Portraits, family photographs, and candid images grace the pages, augmenting the emotional and physical journey each youth has taken. Each honest discussion and disclosure, whether joyful or heartbreaking, is completely different from the other because of family dynamics, living situations, gender
, and the transition these teens make in recognition of their true selves.
American Government Research Paper Packet
Ralston High School Media Center Hours
The RHS Media Center is open school days from 7:40 a.m. until 3:45 p.m.