Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Hispanic Heritage Month (Official Site)
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.
Activities for Synchronous and Asynchronous Learning
Titles in our Collection and in SORA
SORA - The Digital Reading App
What is Hispanic Heritage Month?
American Latino Museum
The Latino community has been an important part of America since before the founding of our great nation. American Latinos are veterans, artists, athletes, business leaders- active participants in every walk of life. The Latino story is the American story: one of family, patriotism, hard work, and pride in the country we've all built together. This American story can only be trusted to one of the greatest research and cultural centers in the world——the Smithsonian museums on the National Mall. The national record of who we are, where we've come from, and what it means to be an American belong in our most important cultural institutions.
Edsitement National Hispanic Heritage Month
This site includes a collection of various resources and lesson plans to celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month, organized by subject.
Hispanic Heritage Month (Read Write Think)
Classroom activities and related resources to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month from the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE).
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has a great page complete with its own calendar. Select from images, to multimedia, to lesson plans.
National Hispanic Cultural Center
The National Hispanic Cultural Center is dedicated to the preservation, promotion, and advancement of Hispanic culture, arts, and humanities. The Center presents over 700 events and creates the opportunity for thousands more through its art museum, library, genealogy center, and educational resources. The NHCC is a division of the State of New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs and is further supported by the National Hispanic Cultural Center Foundation.
National Hispanic Heritage Month
During National Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 to October 15) we recognize the contributions made and the important presence of Hispanic and Latino Americans to the United States and celebrate their heritage and culture.
This site contains information on famous Hispanics, classroom ideas, and teacher resources.
Celebrate National Hispanic Heritage month with lessons, activities, videos, and more.
Study the Aztec alphabet and more with this online encyclopedia of writing systems and languages.
Smithsonian Latino Center
The Smithsonian Latino Center was created in 1997 to promote Latino presence within the Smithsonian. The Center is not represented in one physical location; rather, it works collaboratively with the Institution's museums and research centers, ensuring that the contributions of the Latino community in the arts, history, national culture and scientific achievement are explored, presented, celebrated and preserved. We support scholarly research, exhibitions, public and educational programs, web-based content and virtual platforms, and collections and archives. We also manage leadership and professional development programs for Latino youth, emerging scholars and museum professionals.
Biography Reference Bank via NebraskAccess This link opens in a new window
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Links students to country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture. In-depth reports covering 200+ countries, the United States, and Canada
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources, with improved functionality, and a fun and easy-to-use search interface. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
Ralston High School Media Center Hours
The RHS Media Center is open school days from 7:40 a.m. until 3:45 p.m.