Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information on the Presidency
Administration Web Pages
Directives are top level documents that reflect actual presidential intention as opposed to the public statement of purpose. Directives are issued through the National Security Council. Many current directives are still classified. Different Presidents have given them different names:
- Kennedy and Johnson: National Security Action Memoranda (NSAM)
- Nixon and Ford: National Security Decision Memoranda (NSDM)
- Carter: Presidential Directives (PD)
- Reagan: National Security Decision Directives (NSDD)
- Bush, George: National Security Directives (NSD)
- Clinton: Presidential Decision Directives (PDD)
- Bush, George: National Security Presidential Directives (NSPD)
Many directives are available through the Presidential Directives and Executive Orders Website maintained by the Federation of American Scientists. The Library of Congress has posted a finding aid titled Presidential Directives and Where to Find Them on their Website.
Executive Orders and Proclamations
Executive Orders are issued under statutory authority. These are official documents by which the President manages the operations of the federal government. Proclamations are most often used as broad ceremonial or policy statements of general interest. See Executive Orders: A Journey in Legal Reference Services Quarterly V. 10 (3) 1990, p. 125, [K12 .E357 ] for definitions of Executive Orders and how they've been used.
- Paper Holdings and Locations :1945 - 1989, Codification of Presidential Proclamations & Executive Orders, 1945 - 1989. [GIS Ref AE 2.113:945-89]
- Microfiche Holdings and Locations :1779 - 1983, CIS Microfiche collection in balcony fiche cabinets. Use CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders and Proclamations [GIS Ref KF 70.A55] for indexing and microfiche identification.
- Online Versions :1945 - 1989, Codification of Presidential Proclamations & Executive Orders, 1945 - 1989. (sponsored by the National Archives).
- Executive Orders Disposition Tables (sponsored by the National Archives).
- Guide to Locating Executive Orders and Proclamations (sponsored by the University of Florida, Levin College of Law).
- Note : Executive Orders and Proclamations are included in the Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and Public Papers of the Presidents.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
This is a cumulative version of Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, containing public messages, speeches, and statements of the President. Published approximately twice a year. Material in the Library:
- 1929 to 1933, 1945 - 1983 on 5th floor classed in GS 4.113:
- 1984 to present on 5th floor classed in AE 2.114:
- Online Versions : 1991- (George H.W. Bush-present)
Signing statements are written comments issued by a President at the time of signed legislation. They are published in the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and later in the annual Public Papers of the President. They are at the American Presidency Project
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
These were issued each Monday containing statements, messages, speeches and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. No longer published in paper as of 11/01/2000. Materials in the Library:
- 1966 (v.2:1) - 1985 (v.21:13), on 5th floor stacks under GS 1.114
- 1985 (v.21:14) - 2000 (v.36:43) on 5th floor stacks under AE 2.109:
- Online versions: 1993-present
SEARCH THE RHS CATALOG This link opens in a new window
SIRS Government Reporter This link opens in a new window
SIRS Government Reporter delivers thousands of full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
Biography Reference Bank via NebraskAccess This link opens in a new window
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Ralston High School Media Center Hours
The RHS Media Center is open school days from 7:40 a.m. until 3:45 p.m.