Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a subscription database?
Subscription databases, like the ones listed below, are not freely available to the public. The library has to meet with vendors and purchase costly subscriptions to the databases, so we can have access to its articles and resources. Subscription databases consist of published journals, magazines, reports, documents, newspapers, books, image collections, and more.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources, with improved functionality, and a fun and easy-to-use search interface. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
The single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, this resource is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Explora This link opens in a new window
Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports in all subject areas. Links to free full text when available.
Mostly biomedicine, hosted/funded by the U.S. government.
Public Library of Science
A non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. 160,000+ peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse, and redistribute.
The folks over at a website called Science Buddies have compiled some good tips and resources for searching for and access scientific papers.
A free search engine that covers scientific journals and public science databases. Depending on the source, a full text PDF may be available on the site. In the event full text is not available, the results pull up an abstract of the article and a link to the source.
UNO Assignment Guidelines