LibGuides: Resources for Teachers: Home

Are you taking a graduate course? Are you looking for research for your TeachPoint assessment?

For graduate classes or research for the Danielson Model, teachers have access to the databases purchased by Ralston Public Schools and through NebraskaAccess.

ProQuest K12 Products offers, among its other databases, ProQuest Educational Journals, a comprehensive research collection of more than 300 magazines and journals for K-12 professional development and continuing education.

In addition, the state of Nebraska offers Explora, Educator's Edition via NebraskaAccess. Powered by EBSCO, considered the most-used reference resource around the world, Explora searches across content such as ERIC and Academic Search Premier. It highlights lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.

Both ProQuest Educational Journals and Explora, Educator’s Edition provide a secure place to store and search results, and offer time-saving results management tools such as Search Alerts, Journal Alerts, and RSS Feed Alerts.

Professional Databases for Educators

Explora Educators' Edition This link opens in a new window
A teacher's companion to the various Explora databases, searching across content such as ERIC and Academic Search Premier. It highlights lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.
ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
This database gives users access to hundreds of top educational publications, offering complete information on a wide range of educational topics including Primary education, Secondary education, Higher education, Special education, Home schooling, and Adult education.

Librarian

Maureen Olsen

Email Me

Contact:

Ms. Maureen Olsen, M.Ed.
Ralston Senior HIgh School
8969 Park Drive
Ralston, NE 68127
402.898.3527

Top Websites

Cult of Pedagogy
TEACHER NERDS, UNITE.
If you’ve ever been told you’re way too into your job…
If you can’t stop talking about teaching (even during happy hour)…
If you buy teaching books with your own money and wake up in the middle of the night with lesson ideas…
Welcome home, friend. This place was built for you.
Discovery Education
Transforming Teaching & Learning. We ignite student curiosity and inspire educators to reimagine learning with award-winning digital content and powerful professional development.
Edutopia
George Lucas Educational Foundation
Our Foundation is dedicated to transforming K-12 education so that all students can acquire and effectively apply the knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary to thrive in their studies, careers, and adult lives. Founded by innovative and award-winning filmmaker George Lucas in 1991, we take a strategic approach to improving K-12 education through two distinct areas of focus: Edutopia and Lucas Education Research.
ERIC
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
National Geographic Education
This site brings geography, social studies, and science to life for educators, learners, and their families—in and out of the K-12 classroom. The free education resources at NatGeoEd.org harness National Geographic’s iconic media, research, and exploration to support high-quality, standards-based instruction and student-centered learning. The site features multimedia activities, photo and video galleries, a growing reference library, and interactive mapping and collaboration tools.
NEA: National Education Association
The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate programs. NEA has affiliate organizations in every state and in more than 14,000 communities across the United States.
New Teacher Center
New Teacher Center builds capacity among districts and district partners to drive student learning, educator effectiveness, and teacher and leadership development. We do this by providing PreK-12 teachers and school leaders with evidence-based skills and supports needed to create optimal learning environments that will help end educational inequity. As your partner, we can help you identify the solutions to meet your needs.
Scholastic Teachers
Teaching resources, children's and teacher books, lesson plans, book lists, classroom resources, educational products from Scholastic for PreK to 12 teachers.
Smithsonian Education
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access (SCLDA) uses all the Smithsonian offers to empower learners to explore their own interests and collaborate with others to bring ideas to life. We create models and methods that make the Smithsonian a learning laboratory for everyone.
Teaching Tolerance
Our mission is to help teachers and schools educate children and youth to be active participants in a diverse democracy.
Teaching Tolerance provides free resources to educators—teachers, administrators, counselors and other practitioners—who work with children from kindergarten through high school. Educators use our materials to supplement the curriculum, to inform their practices, and to create civil and inclusive school communities where children are respected, valued and welcome participants.