Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
March 31-April 6, 2019
Nebraska Department of Education World Languages Week
World Language Week celebrates the teaching and learning of world languages in the state of Nebraska. Nebraska has a long heritage of multilingualism from Swedish Oakland to German from Russia in Lincoln and Czech in Wilbur. Twentieth century immigration enriched Nebraska with more languages such as Spanish, Karen, Arabic, Bosnian, and Vietnamese.
Nebraska also relies on languages to promote enterprise and build global relationships. Nebraska has long known that language has the power to make one college, career, and civic ready.
New Titles to Celebrate Our Diversity
How One High School Celebrates...
The Global Goals
In 2015, world leaders agreed to 17 goals for a better world by 2030. These goals have the power to end poverty, fight inequality and stop climate change. Guided by the goals, it is now up to all of us, governments, businesses, civil society and the general public to work together to build a better future for everyone.
The Global Oneness Project
Welcome to the Global Oneness Project. We believe that stories play a powerful role in education. Founded in 2006, as an initiative of Kalliopeia Foundation, we bring the world's cultures alive in the classroom using stories as a pedagogical tool for growing minds. Committed to the exploration of cultural, environmental, and social issues, we offer a rich library of multimedia stories comprised of award-winning films, photo essays, and articles. Companion curriculum and discussion guides are also available. All for free.
National Hispanic Cultural Center
The National Hispanic Cultural Center is dedicated to the preservation, promotion, and advancement of Hispanic culture, arts, and humanities. The Center presents over 700 events and creates the opportunity for thousands more through its art museum, library, genealogy center, and educational resources. The NHCC is a division of the State of New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs and is further supported by the National Hispanic Cultural Center Foundation.
National Museum of African American Culture & History
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.
Study the Aztec alphabet and more with this online encyclopedia of writing systems and languages.
Celebrate hispanic culture — and diversity in general — by studying the Mayan alphabet, dancing to the merengue, or adopting an international sister city. There are 24 ideas to get you started.
Smithsonian Heritage and History Month Events
Celebrate our nation's rich cultural heritage and history by joining us for vibrant performances, lectures, and family activities in honor of federally recognized heritage and history months.
World Hello Day Information and Activities
November 21 is World Hello Day. It began in 1973 to promote peace between Egypt and Israel. There are now 180 countries involved in the attempt to foster peace throughout the world, and letters supporting the effort have been written by people such as John Glenn, Colin Powell, Kofi Annan, and the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF).
Biography Reference Bank via NebraskAccess
Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Links students to country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture. In-depth reports covering 200+ countries, the United States, and Canada
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources, with improved functionality, and a fun and easy-to-use search interface. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
Ralston High School Media Center Hours
The RHS Media Center is open school days from 7:40 a.m. until 3:45 p.m.